New measures for border enforcement (20) (Strengthening border enforcement measures against B.1.1.529 Omicron variant)

November 29, 2021

1. Designation of countries/regions in response to B.1.1.529 Omicron variant Among the COVID-19 variants of special treatment on border measures, the designation of countries/regions in response to B.1.1.529 Omicron variant shall be made specifically based on New measures for border enforcement (20) (hereinafter referred to as the Measures (20)).

## 2. Suspension of new entry of foreign nationals from all countries/regions

Regarding new entry of foreign nationals , based on the paragraph 2 of New measures for border enforcement (19) (November 5, 2021) (hereinafter referred to as the Measures (19)), accepting applications submitted from receiving organizations to Ministries/Agencies in charge of the business as well as screening process prior to entry/re-entry conducted by Ministries/Agencies shall be suspended until December 31, 2021. In addition, the Ministries/Agencies in charge of the business shall stop issuing screening certificates to receiving organizations any further. After November 30, 2021 until December 31, 2021, new entry of foreign nationals from all countries/regions shall be denied under the Measures (19).

3. Review on easing restrictions on activities for persons with a valid vaccination certificate of COVID-19 (1) Regarding specific activities for persons with a valid vaccination certificate of COVID-19 based on the paragraph 1 of the Measures (19), accepting applications submitted from receiving organizations by Ministries/Agencies in charge of the business as well as screening process prior to entry/re-entry conducted by Ministries/Agencies shall be suspended until December 31, 2021.In addition, Ministries/Agencies in charge of the business to receiving organizations any further.

(2) The paragraph 1 and 2 of New measures for border enforcement (18) (November27, 2021) shall be suspended until December 31, 2021.

## 4. Enforcing monitoring mechanism.

Follow-up checks conducted by the Health Monitoring Center for Overseas Entrants (HCO) for returnees and re-entrants from designated countries/regions based on the aforementioned paragraph 1 as well as the surveillance mechanism on Covid-19 variants shall be enforced.

## 5. Lowering the limit of the total number of entrants

While taking into account of existing flight reservations, the number of new flight reservations arriving in Japan shall be limited.

(Provisional Translation)

(Note 1)The paragraph 1 of the Measures (20) shall be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on November 30, 2021.

(Note 2)Regarding designated countries/regions of the paragraph 1 of the Measures (20), the designation of designated countries/regions by the Measure as well as modification and cancellation of the designations will be announced in the specific attachment form whenever the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan so confirm in each time.

(Note 3) The paragraph 2 of the Measures (20) shall be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on November 30, 2021. However, this measure will not apply to foreign nationals newly entering Japan, who departed foreign countries before 0:00 am (JST) on November 30, 2021 and arrive in Japan after the designated time.

(Note 4) The paragraph 3 (1) of the Measures (20) shall be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on November 30.

(Note 5) Based on the paragraph 3 (1) of the Measures (20), specific activities applied for returnees and Reentrants based on the paragraph 1 of the Measures (19) will not be permitted for those arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on December1, 2021.

(Note 6) The paragraph 3 (2) of the Measures (20) shall be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on December 1, 2021.

(Note 7) The paragraph 4 of the Measures (20) shall be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on November 30, 2021.

(Note 8) The paragraph 5 of the Measures (20) shall be implemented from 0:00 am (JST) on December 1, 2021.

End

Designated countries/regions based on the new measures for border enforcement (20)

Designated countries/regions in response to B.1.1.529 Omicron variant, which the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan shall designate and announce after confirming each time based on the new measures for border enforcement (20) (dated 29 November, 2021), are as follows:

## 1 Countries/Regions:

Australia, Austria, Angola, Botswana, Belgium, Canada (Ontario Province), Czech Republic, Denmark, Eswatini, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Netherlands, South Africa, United Kingdom, Zambia, Zimbabwe

2 Designated Date: 29 November, 2021

3 Date of Implementation of the Abovementioned Designations (JST): 0:00 am on 30 November, 2021

(End)